How do I understand the # of clients?

Hi,
I am new to inSSIDer. I am trying to figure out what is wrong with my wifi at night. I am in an apartment complex so I have A TON of overlapping 2.4G networks. During the day the wifi is fine but at night it is crap. I am guessing it is because everyone is at home using their wifi.
Here is my first question. When I look at my network it says that there are 6 clients. But when I click on “clients” only 2 are listed (and the computer I am working on is not listed as a client). I only see two Apple products (my iMac and what I assume is an iPhone) listed. What are the other 4 clients? How do I figure out what those clients are? I turned off my printer’s wifi and unplugged my Chromecast - thinking that those might be “clients” on my network. But I am still getting 6 clients (but I can only see 2 listed).
Next question: I got a message on my “dashboard” that recommended I turn off my printers wifi. So I turned it off. However, I am still getting the message to turn off my printer’s wifi. What am I doing wrong?
Thank you.

Hello dansohayl,

when I click on “clients” only 2 are listed (and the computer I am working on is not listed as a client). I only see two Apple products (my iMac and what I assume is an iPhone) listed. What are the other 4 clients?

A couple things might be happening here…

1. I recommend starring the network you would like to see clients for, and then be sure that the Star icon is selected at the top under Filters. Clicking the Clients column defaults to LAN discovery which I’ve found will sometimes only list hardwired clients, not all WiFi clients. Here is a screenshot of my own network with all WiFi clients on my starred network: