inSSIDer plans to support 6Ghz spectrum Wi-Fi 6E?

I have the Intel AX210 already installed in my laptop and have pre-ordered the new NETGEAR RAXE500 that should arrive sometime in March 2021. I’m very curious when inSSIDer plans to support the 6Ghz band.

2 Likes

Hi timwomble1,

This is a great question! From what I understand, 6e support in inSSIDer will come in two parts.

The first part will be to parse IE elements so inSSIDer can at least display 6e information for a network, such as channel, data rates, etc. This should be accomplished relatively quickly once our engineers can get their hands on some 6e APs and equipment.

The second part will be to graphically display the 6 GHz band in inSSIDer. Unfortunately I cannot give a timeline on this effort since I am not an engineer.

I hope this helps!

1 Like

Any update on inSSIDer support of 6e? In Version 5.5.0 on latest Windows 11 there are some oddities, such as channel number being reported as 227 (instead of 37) and width being shown as 20MHz (when it might really be something more like 80 or 160) and 2 spatial stream MCS Index 11 max rate being reported as 243.8 (instead of something presumably much higher)

Hey Doug!

Whoa, is inSSIDer 5 actually getting some data from your AX210? I’m surprised to hear that. I don’t have a laptop with an AX210 (yet), so I haven’t tested it at all. Feel free to contact us at support@metageek.net with some screenshots, if you’d like.

As for whether we plan to support 6 GHz with inSSIDer… yes. Absolutely yes. The question is when! I wish I could give you some kind of time table, but I think it would just end up being wrong. For now, I’m going to stick with “soon”. I hope that isn’t infuriating.

When we do support 6 GHz with inSSIDer, I think we’ll bump to calling it inSSIDer 6. We figure that’s just too good of an opportunity to pass up. :slight_smile:

Stay tuned for updates and stuff, especially once we get into the new year!

1 Like